top of page

About The Trinity League


The Trinity League was established in 2006 and is arguably the toughest high school football league nationally, year after year. The Trinity League consists of the following schools: 

Five of the six teams that play in the Trinity League have won at least one CIF-SS, Div-1 title. For the 2020 season, (Spring 2021), Mater Dei, St. John Bosco and Servite ended up #1, #2 and #3 respectively in the state of California, (There were no national rankings including the schools from states who didn't start till March of 2021).



The Trinity League is the latest iteration of what was originally known as the Angelus League (1961–1991), founded in 1961. There were various early members of the Angelus League, which, in addition to Servite and Mater Dei, early members included St. PaulCantwell and Salesian. Cantwell and Salesian dropped out of the league, due to its competitiveness, and were replaced by St. John Bosco (Bellflower) and Verbum Dei (Los Angeles). In the late 1960s, St. John Bosco and Verbum Dei dropped out and were replaced by Bishop Amat and Pius X. This iteration became the core, blue blood members of the Angelus League. This iconic league members were: St. Paul (Santa Fe Springs), Mater Dei (Santa Ana), Servite (Anaheim), Bishop Amat (La Puente), Pius X (Downey) and St. Anthony (Long Beach). In the late 1970s, things started to shift again. St. Anthony dropped in 1977 and was replaced by Bishop Montgomery. Pius X dropped in 1980. Bishop Montgomery in 1981. In 1982, Pius X came back and a new member, Serra (Gardenia) joined. Serra dropped in 1984 and was replaced by Bishop Montgomery again. In 1986 Pius X was gone and replaced by St. Bernard (Los Angeles). St. Bernard only lasted two years and dropped in 1988. In 1989 Montgomery and Iconic member, St. Paul dropped and were replaced by Loyola (Los Angeles) and St. John Bosco. That was the last form of the Angelus League as it was disbanded in 1992.


In 1999, a rebirth of the Angelus league appeared under the name of the Serra League. The core members were Servite, Mater Dei, St. John Bosco and Santa Margarita. This lasted three years before expansion occurred. Servite and Mater Dei were reunited with Bishop Amat and Loyola. This was the final version of the Serra League. The schools were Servite, Mater Dei, St. John Bosco, Santa Margarita, Loyola and Bishop Amat. This lasted until 2006.


The third and final iteration of the original Angelus League started in 2006 when Loyola and Bishop Amat were moved to the Mission League and were replaced by Orange Lutheran and JSerra This latest iteration was called the Trinity League. This set of schools have produced some amazing results. Five of the six teams have one a CIF-SS championship. Mater Dei (11), Servite (5), St. John Bosco (3), Santa Margarita (1) and Orange Lutheran (1). Four of the six teams have won State championships. Mater Dei (2), St. John Bosco (2), Servite (2) and Santa Margarita (1).


Trinity League Titles
  • Servite (6) 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011​

  • Mater Dei (6) 2007, 2008, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020       

  • St. John Bosco (5) 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2018​

  • Orange Lutheran (3) 2006, 2007, 2008​

  • Santa Margarita (0)

  • JSerra (0)

Note: Servite, Mater Dei and Orange Lutheran all had various years of co-champs and tri-championships

CIF-SS Titles

  • Mater Dei (11)

  • Servite (5)

  • St. John Bosco (3) 

  • Orange Lutheran (1)

  • Santa Margarita (1)

  • JSerra (0)

State Titles

  • Mater Dei (5) 1994, 1996, 2017, 2018, 2020

  • St. John Bosco (3) 2013, 2016, 2019

  • Servite (2) 1982, 2009

  • ​Santa Margarita (1) 2011

  • Orange Lutheran (0)

  • JSerra (0)

bottom of page